Typewriters

I dug out my typewriter a few weeks ago to type some addresses on my Christmas envelopes and was prompted to draw an ode to the wonderful machine. On one hand, it looks nothing like the typewriter I drew – my one being a weighty, battered, portable machine with a sturdy black leather handle on the case. But on the other hand, it is still a typewriter.

It is not unusual for my typewriter to come out in intervals, staying on the desk in my studio, and experiencing regular use on letters, crafts and journal entries, before retreating back into its case for a fortnight or two, whilst my mind is occupied by other things.

I felt the drawing might translate well into a bag design, like the ones in my etsy shop. I tried out so many colours, and narrowed them down to the orange and the blue. My decision-making quota had been filled for that day, so I decided to make both and see how other people like them! I find lots of feedback comes through my shop facebook page and twitter, which is a great way to connect with customers and keep them up-to-date with exciting stories and new creative adventures!

8 Responses to “Typewriters”

  1. Love these typewriter drawings — particularly the blue/green hue! :)

  2. I will be when i’ve made some, i’ve sold all the last lot! Tet will be making some of his pretty things too! x

  3. I love these, they are amazing! Oh, and we took your advice and did something we’d been planning to do for ages, set up an Etsy shop! Check it out – http://www.tattyoldbus.com ! x

    • Thank you! I love the etsy shop, added it to my favourites immediately! Are you putting some of your jewellery up soon? Looking forwards to more hippie adventures on your blog :D xxx

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

