New Desk

This is a doodle of the wonderful table we bought for the Heat Press last week. The press, whilst magnificently useful, is unfortunately rather heavy and has forced several lovely tables into a bow-legged stoop. We found this beauty right at the back of a second hand furniture sale, with the top unattached and in need of some tender affection. But it was old, and sturdy, make of some solid dark wood – I am unsure of which since my wood-telling skills are not at their best. I saw its potential immediately, and the perfect height to lever the Heat Press handle, (previously I had been growing concerned about injuries caused by pushing the heavy handle up and down when it was too high for me!) and had the added benefit of drawer storage, perfect for transfers and set squares. Normally I am not fond of desks with built in drawers, as I tend to fidget in rotating desk chairs and end up feeling trapped by the lack of leg space, but since I would never sit down at this desk, only stand and press bags, it was perfect! After a lick of blue paint, the studio was looking rather beautiful for the coming spring.

Leave a Reply

