Celebrational Cupcakes

Our etsy shop, Mystic Moose, made its 100th sale this week, and I decided to celebrate with a little bit of cake-baking. I felt like going a little healthier, and adding a bit of fruit to my usual recipe, which I found online many years ago and has never failed me! So I mixed it up a little with this recipe for Louise cake, which adds a little jam to middle, and makes it taste amazing.  Instead of using butter, I used vegan soy spread, which was the only thing we had in the house and works just fine, as well as being healthier! Instead of adding as much sugar and butter, I also tried out blending an apple into the mixture, which I found adds a little more moisture and a subtle apple-y sweetness. I did want to try making courgette cupcakes, but I didn’t have any courgettes in the house, and felt apple was probably a safe bet in cake-making.

The Ingredients:

  • 100g Pure Vegan Spread
  • 100g golden caster sugar
  • 2 free range eggs
  • 125g self-raising flour
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped up into very small pieces.
  • A few spoons of jam – I chose raspberry, but feel free to experiment with it!

The Process:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan/ gas 4.
  2. Pop cake cases into a cupcake over tray – This was the perfect chance to try out my new silicone cupcake cases I got for Christmas!
  3. Tip the butter, sugar, eggs, flour and chopped apple into a bowl and mix together.
  4. Pour into a blender and blend for a few minutes to make sure the apple pieces are smooth. I found this quite good at getting air into the mixture, but if you feel there’s not enough, whisk it until its light and well mixed.
  5. Divide the mixture between the cases, making sure you have a little left over in the bowl for the next step.
  6. Using a tea spoon, put about half a teaspoon of jam in the middle of each cupcake, and cover with a little bit of the mixture you have left over. (This jam will sink to the bottom during the cooking process.)
  7. Bake for 20 minutes until risen.
  8. Wait for them to cool before eating – the jam can get VERY hot, trust me!
  9. Once cool, devour.

We never got round to the decorating stage. I’m not entirely sure they’re ‘healthy’ just because I put an apple in them, but they taste amazing and were the perfect excuse to try out my new brightly coloured silicone cookware!

Leave a Reply

