Gnomes Tote Bags

A few weeks ago I visited my grandmother for a lovely cup of tea and a catch up in her garden whilst the weather was sunny.

Ever since I was young my Grandmother has collected gnomes and her garden is like a shrine to the creatures.  When I was a child I used to love sitting on the lawn, playing with the gnomes and setting up adventures for them, mainly involving hiding the fact they were alive from humans and trying to escape from my Grandmothers two tabby cats. My favourite was a bearded fellow I had lovingly named Gnomey Dustberry who was the hero of all my childhood games.

Whilst sitting in the garden with my grandmother, I was reminded of Gnomey Dustberry, who had long since perished in a storm after a pot plant fell on him and smashed his ceramic body to smithereens, and began doodling a few sketches whilst chatting in the sunshine.

The end result was my new tote bag design, which is now for sale in my etsy shop. I decided to use the traditional blue, red and yellow that scattered the garden I remember, rather than only use the red shirt that my favourite gnome wore.

Leave a Reply

