Vintage Spoon Business Card Holder

The night before I was due to do my first craft stall for my etsy shop, I had the sudden realisation that I had nothing to hold my business cards. I spent many hours working on the cards, and I am thrilled with how they turned out, so naturally, I wanted something lovely to display them in.

I remember walking around a craft show and seeing an ornate vintage display for a company’s business cards. It set them off beautifully, and I had an impulse to take one of the cards home as a token to remember both the products they sold and the carefully considered display. But with mere hours to go before my stall, I knew I had to whip something up quickly.

I’ve been collecting old spoons for a while, with the hopes of making something beautiful from them, but never finding the perfect project. I never wanted to waste them or ruin them of a craft that wasn’t right, so they just sat in my art cupboard looking lovely.

But this was an emergency. I rummaged for a hammer from the tool box, and failing to find a large rubber coated one which would have been more suited to the job, used an ordinary metal one to hammer the spoon flat. A combination of pliers and hammering was used to make an ‘n’ shape from the spoon handle and form a basic stand. I was lucky enough to get some metal alphabet stamps for my birthday last year, and tried to stamp ‘business cards’ into the edge of the underside of the spoon, which was then bent upwards at 90 degrees to hold the cards in place.

The whole thing was surprisingly quick to do, barely taking 25 minutes. I was rather pleased with the last minute project, although I doubt the neighbours were thrilled to hear me hammering metal at 9 pm at night!

One Trackback to “Vintage Spoon Business Card Holder”

Leave a Reply

