Fabric Pocket Mirrors

pocket mirrors

One of the improvements I’ve made in the New Year is a little redesign of the pocket mirrors I make to sell in my etsy shop. The mirrors are hand pressed in my studio, with a glass mirror and metal body. Until recently the metal body was covered in a sheet of illustrated paper and a protective sheet of mylar, but now they are covered with fabric illustrations. I transfer the image onto the fabric using a heat press, in the same way I transfer images onto my tote bags, which gives a beautifully bright and crisp image on un-dyed natural cotton. These fabric images are cut out and the mirror is constructed and sealed. The pocket mirrors comes complete with a lovely blue or pink hand stitched felt pouch with delicate off-white lace detail.

The new fabric illustrations have a wonderful texture and give a much craftier feel to the pocket mirrors. Let me know what you think!001

Red Fox Pocket Mirror, Ceridwen Hazelchild Design

One Comment to “Fabric Pocket Mirrors”

  1. wow!a very inspiring idea :) This year i’ll be participating in an arts and crafts fair, this is one great option on how i can make my artworks constructed to a usable product! Thanks! and amazing illustrations btw! :))

Leave a Reply

