3 Ways To Prepare For Quitting Your Day Job

quitting day jobIt has been two and a half years since I first took those delicate steps into the world of running a craft business, and since then my work has gone from strength to strength. But like most creatives, I have had to supplement my income with a part-time job in order to pay the bills, which, of course has the add-on effect of distracting precious time I could be making. Recently I’ve found myself in a conundrum; my craft business had got as big as it was going to get with the time I could dedicate to it each week, but was anxious about taking that big step into full-time self employment.

cardsSo when the opportunity to move to Hertfordshire arose this summer, the road ahead of me was clear. A fresh start, and the chance to work on Ceridwen Hazelchild Design full-time. The August move date was perfect for preparing for the Christmas rush. In previous years, winter has quite often meant getting in from work at 7pm and heading to my studio until about 10pm each day, resulting in quite the exhausted state! This year I can dedicate all my efforts to making this holiday season the best yet; I am still expecting to be rushed off my feet, but Ceridwen Hazelchild Design will be my sole focus. Running Ceridwen Hazelchild Design full-time has been my dream since the idea was first conceived, and I am so wonderfully excited to be starting the journey in just a few days!

Untitled-1 copy

In preparation for the for the transition into the world of being a full-time creative business owner, I have been planning ahead:

Booking craft fairs.

I am looking forward to being able to take part in more craft fairs, and having more face-to-face interaction with my customers. With the help of a few websites, I’ve been researching crafts fairs in the area and booking some in advance of the Christmas season. It has been a while since I’ve taken part in one, so I’m hoping to get a bit of practice in at smaller ones in September and October!

Planning the studio.

My new studio is a bright attic room, and needs to fit all my business essentials in it. There is a fair bit of storage, but, especially with the holiday season approaching, I have a large amount of materials and stock, so a bit of planning is necessary for fitting everything in! I will be blogging about the progress of my new studio very soon, so keep an eye out!

Making a list of weekly tasks.

It is always tempting to put things off if more interesting things get in the way; setting time aside each week for writing a blog post, drawing or updating my Facebook page is important. These are the things that were all too easy to forget about when I had two jobs and my focus was on making and printing tote bags to fulfil orders.

Have any of you lovely readers got any advice? Please share any thoughts in the comments below, and don’t forget to follow my Facebook page for more updates on my progress!

 

Leave a Reply

